Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

People in Butte County now qualify for federal assistance after winter storms

  • Updated
  • 0
collapsed roof in Magalia

CHICO, Calif. - People and businesses in Butte County have been added to the list of counties that can apply for individual federal assistance after the winter storms.

On Thursday the California Office of Emergency Services announced the addition of several counties to the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration.

Butte County joins the list of 11 counties that qualify for individual assistance. That means people or businesses can apply for individual help to repair damaged property.

On Thursday 12 counties were added to the list for public assistance, including Shasta County. That means the county can apply for help with disaster-damaged facilities.

Shasta joins Butte, Glenn, Modoc and Trinity Counties that already qualified.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY.

Recommended for you