BREAKING NEWS A person has been injured after a car crash and vegetation fire above Stirling City Full Story

What to watch tonight in PyeongChang: Vonn's debut, Rippon's last skate, USA vs. OAR men's hockey

There is a plethora of events for you to feast your eyes on in PyeongChang tonight. ...

Posted: Feb 16, 2018 9:18 PM
Updated: Feb 16, 2018 9:18 PM

There is a plethora of events for you to feast your eyes on in PyeongChang tonight.

Lindsey Vonn makes her PyeongChang debut in the super-G, an event in which she won a bronze medal in Vancouver. Adam Rippon, who's captured America's collective heart at these Games, takes to the ice in the figure skating men's free skate, along with Nathan Chen, who looks to close his Olympics on a high note. Plus, Maame Biney has one more opportunity at a short track medal in the women's 1500m.

The United States men's hockey team also returns to action when it faces the Olympic Athletes from Russia (7:10a ET / 4:10a PT, NBCSN, Stream LIVE here), in a game rife with callbacks to the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" clash. The U.S. would clinch a spot in the quarterfinals with a win or draw. The women's hockey tournament also continues with quarterfinal matchups.

Primetime on NBC

Men's figure skating concludes with tonight's free skate. After a disappointing performances in the short program, Nathan Chen will look for a better outcome in a free skate likely to be loaded with quad jumps. He is currently sitting in 17th place with a score of 82.27. Adam Rippon fared much better in his short program, scoring 87.95 to put him in seventh place. Vincent Zhou, the youngest member on Team USA, landed the first quad Lutz in his program. He is sitting in 12th place with a score of 84.53. Yuzuru Hanyu is in first place, and depending on the outcome tonight, he could be on his way to the top of the podium.

Mikaela Shiffrin will not be competing in the super-G because she did not enough time to properly prepare between events but Lindsay Vonn will be in action and is a medal contender. Vonn, who took home the bronze in this event eight years ago in Vancouver, is hopeful she will do even better this time around in PyeongChang. 

The women’s skeleton will also conclude tonight in Primetime. Jacqueline Loelling, the reigning world champion from Germany, currently leads the competition after the first two runs, while Austria's Janine Flock is just .02 seconds behind. Meanwhile, Great Britain’s Lizzy Yarnold, the defending gold medalist, sits in third.

Take a look back at this morning's women's aerials finals, where Team USA's rising star Madison Olsen attempted to turn heads in her first Olympics. She competed in a stacked field, which featured 2014 gold medalist Alla Tsuper and fellow Belarusian Hanna Huskova as well as a trio of strong Chinese skiers: Sochi silver medalist Xu Mengtao, Kong Fanyu and Zhang Xin.

Watch on TV: NBC 8p.m. ET/ 5p.m. PT
NBCOlympics.com / NBC Sports App: Stream LIVE here

Hockey

The men's tournament is truly wide open. It's anyone's game this year, as we've already seen a number of surprises early in the preliminary round: Slovakia upset pre-tournament favorite OAR, while Slovenia edged Team USA in overtime. Meanwhile, host South Korea—despite its 2-1 loss to the Czech Republic—believes it can stir things up in the tournament after a solid debut. 

The U.S has a date with the OAR at 7:10a.m. ET with pole position in Group B on the line, meaning both teams are hungry for a win. A win or draw would clinch the U.S. a spot in the quarterfinals.

Men's Preliminary Round

CAN vs. CZE Stream LIVE Here 10:10p.m. ET / 7:10p.m. PT
KOR vs. SUI Stream LIVE Here 2:40a.m. ET / 11:40p.m. PT
OAR vs. USA Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT
SLO vs. SVK Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT

There are two quarterfinal games in the women's hockey tournament on tonight. Start your night off with the Olympic Athletes from Russia taking on Switzerland. Talk about two polar opposite teams—OAR has lost every game in the tournament so far while the Swiss are undefeated in group play. The OAR women can't seem to find their groove in PyeongChang. The team has struggled to score, though OAR was finally able to grab a goal in its 5-1 loss to Finland.

Meanwhile, the Swiss are undefeated largely thanks to dominance between the pipes: Florence Schelling has broken the Olympic record for wins in a single tournament (9). Switzerland has been solid offensively thanks to Sara Benz and Alina Muller, who have consistenly put the puck in the net.

Women's Quarterfinals

OAR vs. SUI Stream LIVE Here 10:10p.m. ET / 7:10p.m. PT
FIN vs. SWE Stream LIVE Here 2:40a.m. ET / 11:40p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing

With medals being given out for two events (women's ski slope and men's large hill ski jumping) and men's aerials just getting started, get your thrills (and probably spills) in with freestyle skiing. In women's ski slopestyle, Team USA's Devin Logan is back after winning silver at the 2014 Sochi Games. Maddie Voisin is another American to watch.

Women's Ski Slope Preliminary Round: Stream LIVE Here 8:00p.m. ET / 4:00p.m. PT
Women's Ski Slope Final: Stream LIVE Here 11:00p.m. ET / 8:00p.m. PT

Men's Aerials Preliminary Round: Stream LIVE Here 6:00a.m. ET / 3:00a.m. PT
Ski Jumping Men's Large Hill Final: Stream LIVE Here 7:30a.m. ET / 4:30a.m. PT

Alpine Skiing

After several postponements earlier in the week due to less-than-ideal weather conditions, Alpine skiing is finally underway. Gold medal favorite Mikaela Shiffrin will not be competiting in the women's super-G. Lindsey Vonn, who took home the bronze in Vancouver in this event, is a contender to take home another medal. Look for Switzerland's Lara Gut to be in the medal mix as well. 

Women's super-G: Stream LIVE Here 9:00p.m. ET / 6:00p.m. PT

Figure Skating

There will be medals on the line for the men as they finish up competition with the free skate. Japan's Yuzuru Hanyu fought to defend his 2014 Sochi title with a strong short program that put him in first going into the free skate. U.S. skater Adam Rippon sits in seventh with Team USA's youngest Olympian Vincent Zhou in the 12th spot. American medal hopeful Nathan Chen had an uncharacteristically disappointing skate, landing in 17th after several crucial mistakes. 

Stream LIVE Here 8:00p.m. ET / 4:00p.m. PT

Skeleton

Watch the the women's skeleton's third and fourth runs, featuring Jacqueline Loelling, Janine Flock and Lizzy Yarnold, from start to finish on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app. Stream LIVE Here 6:20a.m. ET / 3:20a.m. PT

Short Track

Catch Maame Biney in action as the women's 1500m starts this morning. After a dissapointing 500m, she is looking to rebound in this event. 

Womens 1500m and Men's 1000m Finals: Stream LIVE Here 5:00a.m. ET / 2:00a.m. PT

Curling

Spend some quality time with curling, as both the men's and women's round-robin tournaments continue. The U.S. women will take on the Olympic Athletes from Russia and then turn their attention to Canada. The Canadians, who entered the tournament as gold medal favorites, have started round robin play with three straight losses. 

Women's Round-Robin Tournament

SUI vs. SWE Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
OAR vs. USA Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
JPN vs. CHN Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
DEN vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT

OAR vs. JPN Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
CHN vs. JPN Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
KOR vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
USA vs. CAN Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT

Men's Round-Robin Tournament

KOR vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
SUI vs. NOR Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
JPN vs. ITA Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT

Cross-Country Skiing

The U.S women will ski for their first Olympic medal. This women's team is the best the U.S. has had at the Games and will be quite the competition for medal favorites Finland and Norway.

Women's 4x5km Relay: Stream LIVE Here 4:30a.m. ET/ 1:30a.m. PT

Biathlon

Darya Domracheva will attempt to defend her 2014 gold medal in PyeongChang. 2018 has treated her well, as she won the last mass start at the Worlds on Jan. 21, edging Anastasiya Kuzmina of Slovakia and Finland's Kaisa Makararien. Team USA will have one American in the race: Susan Dunklee claimed the silver medal in Sochi four years ago and will look to improve here in PyeongChang. 

Women's 12.5km Mass Start: Stream LIVE Here 6:15a.m. ET / 3:15a.m. PT

California Coronavirus Cases

Data is updated nightly.

Confirmed Cases: 803660

Reported Deaths: 15516
CountyConfirmedDeaths
Los Angeles2657756488
Riverside581781189
San Bernardino53669922
Orange529041204
San Diego46001775
Kern31785361
Fresno28106382
Sacramento22026402
Alameda21028404
Santa Clara20882306
San Joaquin20194441
Stanislaus16452348
Contra Costa16327204
Tulare15897259
Ventura12617147
Imperial11781317
San Francisco1103899
San Mateo9785150
Monterey977270
Santa Barbara9003113
Merced8846140
Kings763177
Sonoma7320120
Marin6672117
Solano630963
Madera448165
Placer354244
San Luis Obispo351029
Butte280343
Yolo278955
Santa Cruz23199
Sutter169611
Napa166113
San Benito133111
Yuba11437
El Dorado10984
Mendocino89918
Shasta77717
Lassen7370
Glenn5743
Tehama5404
Lake53411
Nevada5317
Colusa5276
Humboldt5017
Calaveras31414
Amador29616
Tuolumne2274
Inyo18715
Mono1652
Siskiyou1650
Del Norte1391
Mariposa752
Plumas500
Modoc270
Trinity160
Sierra60
Alpine20
Unassigned00
Chico
Broken Clouds
90° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 90°
Oroville
Clear
91° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 67°
Feels Like: 91°
Paradise
Broken Clouds
90° wxIcon
Hi: 85° Lo: 64°
Feels Like: 90°
Chester
Few Clouds
68° wxIcon
Hi: 75° Lo: 48°
Feels Like: 68°
Red Bluff
Clear
90° wxIcon
Hi: 91° Lo: 70°
Feels Like: 90°
Willows
Broken Clouds
90° wxIcon
Hi: 92° Lo: 71°
Feels Like: 90°
Friday was a quiet weather day for northern California, ahead of hotter and potentially more dangerous changes this weekend and early next week. A Red Flag Warning will be in effect from Saturday evening through Monday morning.
KHSL Severe
KHSL Radar
KHSL Temperatures

Community Events