SACRAMENTO, Calif. - 2020 is just a few days away, and the new year brings new laws for California.
Firearm purchase fees go up to $38.19 on January 1.
A person must be at least 21 years old to buy semi-automatic rifles.
A person cannot buy guns if they are already banned from buying in another state.
Starting in 2021, Californians will be limited to buying one semi-automatic rifle per month.
In September, employers, teachers, and co-workers will be able to seek a gun-violence restraining order.
Gun packages will come with suicide warning labels by June 1.
The minimum wage in California goes up a dollar. Companies with 26 or fewer workers must pay $12 per hour. Large employers must pay at least $13 an hour.
Companies using independent contractors, such as Uber and Lyft, are subject to new restrictions under Assembly Bill 5. More of those workers will be considered employees, entitled to benefits and protections, such as sick leave and minimum wage.
Californians will be required to have health insurance.
Doctors will be required to fill out a new standardized form for parents who want to exempt their kids from vaccinations. Doctors with five or more exemptions will be reviewed by the state.
Undocumented immigrants under 26 years old will be eligible for the state's low-income health insurance.
Wildlife and Environment
Smoking becomes illegal in most state parks and beaches. Those who break the law are subject to a $25 fine.
Products with microbeads, such as toothpaste and soaps, are illegal to sell.
Trapping animals for fur becomes illegal.
Circuses that use exotic animals are banned from California.