With the new year in California comes a new set of laws and there some important changes Californians will want to be aware of.
As part of SB 1, drivers will pay between $25 and $175 more for vehicle registration at the DMV. So, for example, a vehicle valued between $5,000 and $25,000 will see a fee increase of $50.
There will be a $100 increase for the $25,000 to $35,000 range. The fee hikes stem from the same law, signed by Governor Brown earlier this year, that brought that gas tax increase in November.
-Vehicles worth between $0 and $4,999: $25 fee increase
-Vehicles worth between $5,000 and $24,999: $50 fee increase
-Vehicles worth between $25,000 and $34,999: $100 fee increase
-Vehicles worth between $35,000 and $59,999: $150 fee increase
-Vehicles worth $60,000 and higher: $175 fee increase
Minimum wage goes up to $11 an hour an hour on January 1st, the second straight year for a California minimum wage increase.
The same law comes with an additional one dollar increase each year through 2022 where it will reach $15 an hour.
Starting January 1st, Californians will no longer be able to buy any ammunition online, only through a licensed dealer.
Gun dealers must get a Department of Justice Certificate of Eligibility from employees who handle ammuntion to prove they've passed a background check.
"This here is what we'd consider California compliant, fixed stock, no pistol grip here, no flash supressor here, this gun in perfectly legal to have a detachable magazine, because this is a California complaint model," said Will Clark, the owner of Down Range Indoor Training Center.
Another gun law, AB 4244, will ban firearms on campus altogether.
There is good news for some California college students. AB 19 will waive the fee for first-time students who enroll full time in California community colleges.
Finally another law, AB 485, prevents pet stores from selling dogs, cats and rabbits unless they are rescue animals. The law is intended to prevent pet stores from selling animals bred in mass-breeding operations.