Oroville, Calif. - According to the U.S. Coast Guard, California ranked second in boating accidents and third in boating fatalities last year.
One easy life-saver is to wear a life jacket every time you're on the water.
Across the U.S., 84.5 percent of recreational boating drownings involved victims without life jackets.
The upcoming Labor Day holiday is a major boating weekend and it's important to spread the word about practicing responsible boating, wearing life jackets at all times when on the water, and understanding the dangers of consuming alcohol while operating a boat.
Alcohol consumption is a leading factor in recreational boating accidents.
If you're heading out to the water this year, remember that California law will require boaters to carry the California Boater Card.
While there isn't a minimum age requirement to take this online course, nor a state residency requirement, there are some age restrictions on driving.
Kids ages 12-15 can't drive a vessel with a motor of 15 hp or more - that includes sea-dos and other personal water crafts - unless they are supervised on board by a person at least 18-years-old.
Anyone can operate a sailboat shorter than 30 feet, or a dinghy used between a moored vessel and shore or between two moored vessels.