Trout, Kershaw Win MLB MVP Awards

Nov 13, 2014 8:02 PM

NEW YORK (AP) - Clayton Kershaw has become the first pitcher since Bob Gibson in 1968 to win the National League MVP award. Kershaw got 18 of 30 first-place votes and 355 points in balloting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America after going 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA and one no-hitter. Miami outfielder Giancarlo Stanton got eight first-place ballots and 298 points, while Pittsburgh outfielder Andrew McCutchen got four first and 271 points.

Mike Trout is a unanimous winner of the American League's Most Valuable Player award after consecutive second-place finishes. He hit .287 and set career highs with 36 home runs and 111 RBIs while leading the major leagues with 115 runs and 84 extra-base hits. The 23-year-old Trout is the fifth-youngest MVP in major league history.


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4