Jun 30, 2015 4:10 PM by News Staff
SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP) - More than six million workers are expected to benefit from a new law that requires California employers to provide them with at least three paid sick days each year.
The measure that passed last year as AB1522 applies to most employees who work 30 or more days in a year. They will earn a minimum of one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours they work.
Paid sick leave is among several new laws taking effect Wednesday with the start of the state's new fiscal year.
California also continues to phase in a ban on lead ammunition by barring it for hunting in certain areas. And cellphones manufactured and sold starting in July must have a "kill switch" to make them less attractive to thieves.
Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.
2 days ago