Ohio State clinches its first national title in wrestling

Mar 21, 2015 5:54 PM by Ross Field

ST. LOUIS (AP) - Ohio State clinched its first NCAA wrestling title before the final round began.

The Buckeyes had 94 points and a 10-point lead over Iowa with an event-high three competitors remaining after lower places were decided earlier Saturday. Iowa had one competitor remaining and could earn no more than six points.

Edinboro was third with 75 1-2 points followed by Missouri with 69 1-2, Cornell with 67 1-2 and four-time defending champion Penn State with 63 1-2.

Sixteen schools had at least one competitor in the finals.

The match order starts at 149 points and concludes at 141 pounds, where Logan Stieber of Ohio State was attempting to be just the fourth to win four individual titles. He would join Kyle Dake of Cornell (2010-13), Cael Sanderson of Iowa State (1999-2002), and Pat Smith of Oklahoma State (1990-92, 1994).

(Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Most Popular