MLB Rookie of the Year Winners Announced

Nov 10, 2014 7:34 PM

NEW YORK (AP) - New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom has been voted NL Rookie of the Year, joining AL winner Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox.

DeGrom received 26 of 30 first-place votes and 142 points in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced Monday. Speedy Cincinnati outfielder Billy Hamilton was second with four firsts and 92 points.

Winless in his first seven starts, deGrom wound up 9-6 with a 2.69 ERA for the Mets.

Abreu received all 30 first place votes for 150 points in AL balloting after the White Sox first baseman led the big leagues in slugging percentage at .581. Angels right-hander Matt Shoemaker was second with 40 points.


Most Popular