Dec 29, 2015 8:41 PM
Starting this Friday, minimum wage workers in California will see a bump in their pay check. The New Year Marks a new minimum wage of $10 per hour.
The dollar per hour increase is the result of legislation signed by Governor Brown in 2013. The new law raised minimum wage to $9 per hour in July of 2014 with an additional increase at the start of 2016.
January 1, 2016 an estimated 9 million minimum wage workers in California will be making a dollar more per hour. Local business owners are looking for ways to absorb the added cost without cutting labor; including slight increases to customer costs.
This minimum wage increase is the state's second in the last 18 months. Prior to that, hourly minimum wage hadn't been increased for 6 years.
At $10 per hour the state minimum wage is now close to 3 dollars more than federal standards.
California is one of 7 states in the US with a minimum wage of at least $9 per hour.