Kershaw, Kluber Win Cy Young Awards

Nov 13, 2014 12:53 AM

NEW YORK (AP) - It's another shutout for Clayton Kershaw.

The Los Angeles Dodgers ace is a unanimous winner for his third NL Cy Young Award after throwing a no-hitter and leading the majors in victories and ERA. Kershaw earned the pitching prize for the second year in a row, getting all 30 first-place votes in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Kershaw went 21-3 with a 1.77 ERA for the NL West champions, which also puts him in the running to become the first pitcher to sweep MVP and Cy Young honors since Bob Gibson in 1968.

Cleveland's Corey Kluber is the AL Cy Young Award winner, edging Seattle's Felix Hernandez. He received 17 of 30 first-place votes and 169 points compared to Hernandez's 13 firsts and 159 points. Kluber went 18-9 with a 2.44 ERA in his first full major league season while compiling 269 strikeouts, two behind league leader David Price.


Most Popular