Chico wrestlers snag seventh straight Division One title

Feb 22, 2015 12:22 AM by Ross Field

The Chico High School wrestling team won the Northern Section D-1 championships for the seventh year in a row on Saturday.

The Panthers tallied 260 points behind four individual title winners and nine finalists.

Chico's titles came from David Leyva (147), John Leal (154), Nick Maximov (184), and Lukas Bolen (197).

Paradise came in second place with 228 points. The Bobcats put five wrestlers into the finals with four emerging as champions. Wyatt Wyckoff won the 140-pound final, while Brent Smith won at 108, Bryant Van Iderstine at 115 and Eric Blood at 134.

Pleasant Valley's Michael Briscoe won the 128 final.


Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4