Jun 30, 2014 8:53 PM by Linda Watkins-Bennett
California's minimum wage goes up tomorrow.
Starting July 1st it will increase to $9 per hour, providing workers with the first increase since 2008.
It's the first of two scheduled increases and is one of several new laws taking effect in July.
Governor Jerry Brown signed AB-10 into law last fall.
It will boost the minimum wage to $10 an hour starting on January 1,2016.
The increase comes amid a national debate about wages.
Washington has the highest minimum wage of any state, at $9.32 an hour.